Robby Krieger - Robby Krieger And The Soul Savages (Red Vinyl)

If you order this item together with pre-order items that are not yet available, we will hold your order and ship all items together. We recommend that you place a separate order if you wish to receive the released items sooner.
Type: Vinyl
Barcode: 8712725746546
Release Date: 2024-01-19

Purchase includes album download, to be sent when your order is shipped.

Robby Krieger knows that when you assemble the right bunch of musicians, and trust in the creative process, magic happens. As a founding member of The Doors, the guitarist intuitively understands the beauty of free-flowing collaboration and telepathic group interplay. This is evident on Robby’s self-titled debut release from his new band, Robby Krieger And The Soul Savages, out January 19th on The Players Club / Mascot Label Group.

Robby Krieger And The Soul Savages was recorded old school style with a bunch of friends jamming and recording in a relaxed studio setting. Tracked at Robby’s own Love Street Studios in Glendale, California, it finds Robby stretching out over cinematic groove music inspired by classic soul, 1960s jazz, blues, rock, psychedelic rock, and beyond.

“I’ve had this studio for the last 6 or 7 years, and it’s really made me branch out as a musician,” Robby says. “We wrote together, and soul music became a big part of this album. These guys are world-class players—they’ve worked with Aretha Franklin, Stevie Wonder, Chaka Khan, Lenny Kravitz—they have that great groove pedigree.”

Robby is a Rock and Roll Hall of Famer and he is listed by Rolling Stone magazine as one of the 100 greatest guitarists of all time. He wrote or co-wrote many of The Doors’ most enduring compositions, including “Light My Fire,” “Love Me Two Times,” “Touch Me,” and “Love Her Madly.” Since the 1970s, Robby has emerged a successful jazz-fusion guitarist with a well-received catalog of solo albums, including the Grammy-nominated record, Singularity. Robby has also stayed active jamming with artists such as Gov’t Mule and Alice In Chains. Recently, he released the revealing memoir, Set the Night on Fire: Living, Dying, and Playing Guitar With the Doors.

Fans of the guitarist’s singular style will rejoice that his latest album is filled with Robby-isms. Robby Krieger And The Soul Savages brims with his celebrated fingerstyle fretwork, including Robby’s adventurous jazzy and microtonal slide guitar playing; his slinky, funk-inspired rhythm work; and his silky Wes Montgomery-style octave playing. The 10-song album explores the soul-jazz, dirty blues, and noir-ish roots of The Doors while also furthering Robby’s career as a jazz-fusion guitarist.

A1. Shark Skin Suit
A2. Samosas & Kingfishers
A3. A Day In L.A.
A4. Killzoni
A5. Contrary Motion
B1. Never Say Never
B2. Bouncy Betty
B3. Ricochet Rabbit
B4. Blue Brandino
B5. Math Problem